ProLaxShop

Mentality and Equipment

for all the Goalies? Tips from the coaches. Advice from players.

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting on the forum please ensure you read the Board Wide Rules
LacrosseRob

Mentality and Equipment

Postby LacrosseRob Tue May 17, 2011 11:06 pm

I started playing goal in the last few months after having played middie for about a year and I was wondering what people thought about how much equipment you should wear and why. The most common things I've read (and found) is that it's generally a balance between protection/mobility (and sometimes heat).

But I've rarely heard anything about how it affects your thinking in net (besides some obvious grandstanding by 13 year olds calling other people pussies).

In terms of my mentality i've always thought I'll never wear football shinpads/d elbow pads/padded shorts because it's things I don't strictly need which will affect my mentality, that is, if i'm wearing this stuff it's because i'm afraid of the ball and because i think i won't get to it in time. If i don't wear it i'll get used to getting hit (you can never cover your entire body obviously so it's going to happen) and I'll build quicker reflexes and won't flinch at those cannon shots you get sometimes.

What's people thoughts on this? Does more equipment build confidence or reduce it?
Ex-Leicester Uni #99
Leicester Uni Men's Captain 2011/12
Maidstone #00
plainnash

Re: Mentality and Equipment

Postby plainnash Wed May 18, 2011 12:10 am

It's great for someone just starting out in goal, pad up as much as you want then remove the pads as and when you feel comfortable.
Personally I find it gives me a negative mentality, like I don't want to be hit, which is entirely the wrong thing to think IMO. I always tell shooters to shoot hard at goalies with extra padding, because it usually means they're afraid of being hit.